Cappella Records is pleased to announce the October 23 release of Benedict Sheehan’s Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom, the world première recording of a major new choral work of elegance and beauty. The Liturgy is performed by the professional Saint Tikhon Choir, conducted by the composer.

See streaming links and reviews

Sheehan’s Liturgy is the first of four planned releases on Cappella Records produced by multi-GRAMMY® Award winner Blanton Alspaugh and the engineering team at Soundmirror. Soundmirror’s outstanding orchestral, solo, opera, and chamber recordings have received more than 100 GRAMMY® nominations and awards, with releases on every major classical label.

This is also the first release of The Saint Tikhon Choir on Cappella Records. The Choir recently recorded a collaboration on Naxos with three other choirs and the Orchestra of St. Luke’s conducted by Leonard Slatkin, which debuted at #1 on Billboard. They also previously recorded the sacred works of Benedict Sheehan for Saint Tikhon’s Monastery Press.

The 2-disc deluxe set features both CD and PureAudio Blu-ray™ media with high-resolution 2.0 Stereo and 5.0 Surround versions (DSM192K/24bit), recorded in DSD and downloadable to audio servers and devices. The Blu ray™ also contains three video performances: two concert selections from the world première performance and the complete liturgical première sung at St. Nicholas Orthodox Cathedral in Washington, DC. The accompanying booklet provides an extensive essay by the composer, the full text of the Divine Liturgy, and beautiful photography.


Liturgy of Saint John Chrysostom

  1. Great Litany
  2. First Antiphon – Psalm 102
  3. Second Antiphon – Psalm 145
  4. Only-Begotten Son – The Hymn of Justinian
  5. Third Antiphon – The Beatitudes (Matt. 5:3-12)
  6. O Come, Let Us Worship
  7. Holy God
  8. Alleluia (Based on Znamenny Chant)
  9. Cherubic Hymn
  10. Litany of Supplication
  11. Anaphora
  12. It Is Truly Meet
  13. Our Father
  14. One is Holy
  15. Communion Hymn – Psalm 148 (Based on Valaam Chant)
  16. Liturgy Ending
  17. Blessed be the Name of the Lord