Cappella Records is pleased to announce the November 19, 2021, release of Benedict Sheehan’s Vespers, an Eastern Orthodox Vespers performed in English by the GRAMMY®-nominated Saint Tikhon Choir, conducted by the composer.

Inspired by the great All-Night Vigil setting by Rachmaninoff, Sheehan’s composition expands the genre with full settings of Psalms, each of which expresses a full range of human emotion.

Vespers also features virtuosic vocal concertos, including the first for
basso profundo in English, sung by the great American basso profundo Glenn Miller. Music that projects a vision of hope and light for all.




  1. The Opening Psalm | Ps. 103 9:08
    Soloists: Michael Hawes, Timothy Parsons
  2. Great Litany 5:10
    Soloist: Michael Hawes
  3. Blessed is the Man 3:00
    Soloists: Eric S. Brenner, Paul D’Arcy, Michael Hawes, David Hendrix
  4. Small Litany 1:36
    Soloist: Michael Hawes
  5. The Lamp-Lighting Psalms 3:25 Pss. 140 & 141
    Soloists: Helen Karloski, Mark Powell Soprano/Alto Semi-Chorus: Sarah Tannehill Anderson, Eric S. Brenner, Tynan Davis, Photini Downie Robinson, Helen Karloski, Talia Sheehan, Tenor/Bass Semi-Chorus: Sam Anderson, Daniel Burnett, Nathan Hodgson, Christopher Jackson, David Morrison, Mark Powell
  6. Stikhira of the Resurrection 10:00 Soloists: Sarah Tannehill Anderson, Emily Yocum Black, Daniel Burnett, Paul D’Arcy, Tynan Davis, Helen Karloski, Mark Powell, Jamal Sarikoki
    Soprano Semi-Chorus: Sarah Tannehill Anderson, Emily Yocum Black, Elizabeth Frase, Fiona Gillespie
    Mezzo Semi-Chorus: Tynan Davis, Catherine Hedberg, Tabitha Lewis
    Alto Semi-Chorus: Kit Emory, Amanda Jacobs, Helen Karloski
    Tenor Semi-Chorus: Daniel Burnett, David Hendrix, Mikel Hill, Anthony Maglione Baritone Semi-Chorus: Richard Barrett, Michael Hawes, Mark Powell
    Bass Semi-Chorus: Christopher Jackson, David Morrison, Jason Thoms, Thou Yang
  7. O Gladsome Light 4:04
    Soloist: Fotina Naumenko
  8. The Lord is King | Ps. 92 2:42
    Soloist: Timothy Parsons
  9. Evening Prayer | “Vouchsafe, O Lord” 3:30
  10. The Song of Simeon 5:00
    Soloist: Glenn Miller
  11. Interlude: The Trisagion Prayers 1:54
    Soloists: Michael Hawes, Jason Thoms
  12. Rejoice, O Virgin 3:34
    Soloist: Jamal Sarikoki
  13. The Closing Psalm | Ps. 33 6:17
    Soloists: Paul D’Arcy, Helen Karloski