Dr. Tikey Zes (b. 1927) is the most prolific composer of Greek Orthodox liturgical music in America. This highly original Liturgy, which Zes dedicated to Cappella Romana, bears the marks of a composer long engaged with the traditions of Orthodox worship. Cumulatively opulent in its variety, level of musical difficulty and ecstatic polyphonic climaxes, this Liturgy achieves a balance of splendor with restraint that is, in an inculturated and dignified musical idiom, thoroughly Byzantine.

Music of purity and radiance. —Gramophone

Album Tracks

  1. Litany of Peace
  2. The Three Antiphons
  3. The Small Entrance
  4. Trisagion
  5. Alleluiarion and Gospel
  6. The Cherubic Hymn
  7. The Litany of Precious Gifts
  8. The Holy Oblation
  9. Megalynarion
  10. Conclusion of the Holy Oblation
  11. Litany of the Lord’s Prayer
  12. Communion Verse for Sunday
  13. The Communion of the Laity
  14. Post-Communion and Dismissal
  15. Prayer Behind the Ambo and Final Dismissal